New Residents


Welcome to our community! Neosho was established as the county seat of Newton County in 1839 and officially incorporated in 1878. The name "Ne-o-zho" or "Ne-u-zhu," is of Native-American derivation meaning "clear or abundant water." Neosho is called the "City of Springs" and the "Flowerbox City." In 1957, Neosho was named an All-America City by the National Municipal League and Look Magazine.

Neosho's population as of the 2010 census was 11,835.

The City of Neosho is a Home Rule Charter City. This means the city may do anything not expressly forbidden by state law or the Missouri Constitution. Neosho operates under a city council-city manager form of government. The five-member city council is elected at large, meaning each of the council members represent the entire city and not a particular ward. Council terms are three years, with council seat elections staggered on a one-two-one rotation. The mayor is elected annually by the council. The council appoints the city manager who is responsible to the council for the administration of the city government.

The following links are meant to help new residents, or existing residents with new children, get acquainted with the services that Neosho offers. The information here is not exhaustive, but is a good starting point.